Praying the Rosary

Venerating our Holy Mother, Mary!

The Rosary is a devotion that is dear to all Catholics and has been prayed throughout the centuries. By praying the Holy Rosary, we are able to meditate on the mysteries of our Lord Jesus Christ's life and show our love for our Holy Mother and her Son.

The Rosary is organized into four mysteries and within each mystery there are five decades, most of which recall the significant events in the life of Christ. The mysteries and decades are as follows:

The Joyful Mysteries

  • The Annunciation
  • The Visitation
  • The Birth of Jesus
  • The Presentation in the Temple
  • The Finding in the Temple

The Glorious Mysteries

  • The Resurrection
  • The Ascension of Jesus Into Heaven
  • The Coming of the Holy Spirit
  • The Assumption of Mary into Heaven
  • The Coronation of Mary

The Sorrowful Mysteries

  • The Agony in the Garden
  • The Scourging at the Pillar
  • The Crowning with Thorns
  • The Carrying of the Cross
  • The Crucifixion

The Luminous Mysteries

  • The Baptism in the Jordan
  • Jesus' Self-Manifestation at Cana
  • The Proclamation of the Kingdom and the Call to Conversion
  • The Transfiguration
  • The Institution of the Eucharist

How To Pray the Rosary

  1. While holding the Crucifix in the hand, make the Sign of the Cross and recite the Apostle's Creed.
  2. On the first bead, pray the Our Father for the intentions of the Holy Father, Pope Benedict XVI.
  3. On the three small beads, pray the Hail Mary for an increase in faith, hope, and charity.
  4. Pray one Glory Be.
  5. Call to mind the first mystery and reflect upon it on the large bead; then pray the Our Father.
  6. On the ten small beads, pray the Hail Mary keeping in mind the mystery.
  7. Pray the Glory Be.
  8. Many add the Fatima invocation and pray the O My Jesus.
  9. Each of the following decades continue as in the first; recall the mystery, then pray the Our Father, the ten Hail Mary's, the Glory Be, and the O My Jesus.
  10. At the end of the Rosary, recite the concluding prayers Hail Holy Queen, Let Us Pray and the Sign of the Cross..